Tag Archives: Bodhisattva

Ten Realms Ten Powers

Seven Deities Banishing AsuraDharma Realm
By Alan Koo

This is the general term for the “things”, noumenal or phenomenal. In Buddhism, there are ten states of existence, which are also called Ten Dharma Realms. Each Dharma realm has its own characteristics, and its existence is attributed to the retribution of the beings. These ten realms do not appear to be discrete in their forms, as their existence is virtually determined by the state of mind. Therefore, it is important to note that the ten Dharma realms are not beyond a single thought. Continue reading


Accumulating Merit

Third Eye MIndLecture Notes

Merit decides success in this life. Some have vast merits and things come to them easily. One needs to prepare so to have as much merit out of this lecture as possible. Merit in time is irrelevant. Motivation and dedication decide the accumulation of merit.

The way of the Bodhisattva needs the highest motivation. Which is to free all sentient beings from their suffering.

Bridging. The Bodhisattva text is beneficial to everyone. Buddhist or not. Whether one beliefs in the afterlife or not. The Bodhisattva Shantideva enables enlightenment. The points are summarized in the text.

Chapter 1 – The Benefit of the Spirit of Awakening Continue reading

The Spirit of Nelson Mandela



Lecture – The 21 Aspects of Tara (2)

Green Tara fpmtBenefits of Green Tara Practice

Lecture by Lama Zangmo
Kagyu Samye Ling 2004 © Rokpa Trust

Lecture Part 1

For the last part of the session we look more how to actually do the practice, because if you are not familiar with how to do the practice, there won’t be very much benefit… So we better make sure you are clear about how to do the practice, not in great detail but in general overview. So if you are going in the Tara puja here in the morning, you will have partly a sense of how you should practice, without necessarily all the details.

The practice starts as always with refuge and bodhicitta. This is in all of your Vajrayana practices. During the refuge you can imagine Tara in front of you and you think you take refuge in Tara as a representation of Three Jewels and Three Roots. You don’t have to think of the whole refuge tree, but Continue reading

Lecture – The 21 Aspects of Tara

Green Tara fpmtBenefits of Green Tara Practice

Lama Zangmo
Kagyu Samye Ling 2004 © Rokpa Trust


This morning we are going to look at the Green Tara practice. I’ll be using all my notes and whatever commentaries and teachings I’ve had in Green Tara. I don’t know if I can talk for two and half hours solidly on the benefits of Green Tara, I’ll do my best. We basically cover the practice as much as we can – not as practice instructions as such, but just generally trying to talk about Tara.

The Tara practice which we do every morning in Samye Ling, comes from Tara tantra. There are various Tara tantras and there are also many different Tara practices. There are short and long Continue reading

Praising the 21 Aspects of Tara

Green Tara fpmtLineages of Tara
By Unknown

The main aspects of Tara are the forms which are called the 21 Taras. This teaching of the 21 Taras appears to have been introduced into Tibet by Atisha. In Nyingmapa, there are three main lineages of Tara and the 21 Taras. There is a lineage which is associated with the Khyentse tradition, and there is the Long-Chen Nyin-Thig lineage. However the most famous lineage of Tara, which is found in all schools, is from the Terton Chogyur Lingpa. There are a number of small differences between the lineages. There appear to be two Taras among the 21 which are different between the Atisha lineage and the other lineages.

Looking at the 21 Taras from perhaps an academic or scholarly standpoint, it seems that what has been done is to integrate the practice of other female divinities with Tara. Continue reading

Bodhisattva Vow – The Seven Branches

BuddhasBodhisattva Vow

There are two main traditions of bodhisattva vow: the tradition of Profound View, coming from Nagarjuna, and the tradition of Vast Conduct, coming from Asanga. In Asanga’s tradition the vows of bodhichitta in aspiration and bodhichitta in action are taken separately, whereas in Nagarjuna’s tradition they are taken together.

The Bodhisattva vow consists of the preliminary practices, main part and conclusion. The preliminaries can consist of gathering the accumulations by means of the seven branch offering, training the mind and giving away the three possessions. The main part consists of taking the vows of bodhichitta in aspiration and action, either separately or together. The conclusion consists of rejoicing oneself and encouraging others to rejoice as well. Continue reading

%d bloggers like this: