Chakras and AmerIndians

WolfshamanFrom The Chakra System and Ancient Wisdom Traditions Worldwide
By Patricia Day Williams, M.D.

Native American Beliefs

According to The Book of the Hopi: “The living body of man and the living body of the earth were constructed in the same way. Through each ran an axis … along this axis were several vibratory centers … The first of these in man lay at the top of the head … just below it lay the second center, the organ called the brain … The third center lay in the throat … The fourth center was the heart … The last of man’s important centers lay under his navel, the organ some people now call the solar plexus…The fifth center, the one under the navel was said to be “the one which directed all the functions of man.” (Waters)

Robert Ghost Wolf, his own lineage Lakota and Iroquois and having had teachers from several North American tribes, discusses our energetic “light bodies” and the phenomenon of “ascension”, when the physical body is left behind and the light body merges with the Light. He states that there are seven rays of the rainbow each of which “influences our Hu-man consciousness and the spinning of the dream called life, the dream of temporal existence”. The following chart indicates possible correlations between his descriptions of the seven rays and the chakras.

Ray – Color – Wolf’s Description = Chakra Correlation
First Ray – Red …in which …this earth is held. It is the Ray of Leadership [First Chakra]
Second Ray – Sky Blue … the Ray…of Understanding…of Knowledge [Sixth Chakra]
Third Ray – Green – the Healing Ray…in harmony with …Divine Nurturing [Fourth Chakra]
Fourth Ray – Yellow – The Sun radiates the Yellow Ray and all life is stimulated to growth [Third Chakra]
Fifth Ray – Cobalt Blue – the Ray of Scientific Understanding…understanding how thought creates all reality [Fifth Chakra]
Sixth Ray – Rose – the Ray of Devotion – allows us the state of Oneness…abundant in spring skies and young flora – youth and new beginnings [Second Chakra]
Seventh Ray – Violet … the Ray of Transition of the Physical and Spiritual…the Ray of Transformation [Seventh Chakra]

Michael Drake, a ceremonial drummer of Cherokee descent, draws a direct correspondence between Native American energy centers and chakras: “The spiritual traditions of the Hopi, Cherokee, Tibetan, Hindu, and other cultures teach us that there are vibratory centers within the human body. All describe spinning wheels of energy called chakras, lying along the spine. There are seven major chakras situated along the vertical spinal axis from the genital region to the crown of the head… Chakras function much like electrical junction boxes, mediating spiritual energy throughout the entire mind-body system. They are the interface among the physical, mental, and spiritual aspects of one’s being. Imbalances in chakras lead to imbalances in body, mind, and spirit.”

(Other non-Native American sources allude to other correspondences. For example, one states that the Huichol Indians of Mexico speak of energy fields which radiate from various areas of the body, while the Cuna Indians of Panama and Colombia believe that eight “spirits” inhabit the body in the chakra locations. However, these assertions could not be confirmed by Native sources.)

Source: http://www.patriciadaywilliams .com/chakrasystem.pdf



Tagged: , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Chakras and AmerIndians

  1. Julianne Victoria June 6, 2013 at 3:37 pm Reply

    Are you familiar with the Nine Shamanic Chakras?

    • thesevenminds June 6, 2013 at 3:44 pm

      Not yet. I was quite happy with the seven rays in this article. Ready to connect it to the article on the Greek/Egyptian seven rays from a while back. But… you got my attention, because I start posting on the higher chakras next week. Can send me a link or pointer? 🙂

    • Julianne Victoria June 6, 2013 at 3:53 pm

      Cool! No link though, I had to go look at my notebook from about 7 years ago! 😉 If I remember correctly I first learned about the 9 Shamanic Chakras from reading Alberto Villoldo’s “Shaman, Healer, Sage”. (I had borrowed the book). Each of the 9 chakras also is connected with an element, including “stages” of light and energy. I hope this is helpful.

    • thesevenminds June 6, 2013 at 4:03 pm

      No problem, I will easily find something online. Maybe even a Villoldo article. 🙂

    • Julianne Victoria June 6, 2013 at 4:07 pm

      Awesome! :-).

    • Julianne Victoria June 7, 2013 at 12:27 am

      Ooh, thank you!

Share a thought...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: