The Seven Chakras – Sacral Chakra

Yoga tradition teaches that we have two bodies. We have a physical and tangible body, and an energetic and subtle body. Along the midline of the subtle body – within the spine – lie seven subtle energy centres, the chakras. There are seven main chakras. The first chakra is the root chakra. The second chakra is the sacral chakra.

2. Sacral chakra  (Svadisthana)
Svadhisthana (also adhishthana) is symbolized by a white lotus within which is a crescent moon, with six vermillion, or orange petals.

Once the ability to remember (root chakra) has been established, the natural consequence is reason, and from reason evolves the intellect. Reason is the manipulation of memorized information. We categorize it, edit it, rearrange it and store the results. People in this six-petaled chakra research, explore and wonder, “Why? Why? Why?” They propose theories and formulate rational explanations. They often form a rigid intellectual mind based upon opinionated knowledge and accumulated memory, reinforced by habit patterns of the instinctive mind.

It is in this chakra that the majority of people live, think, worry and travel on the astral plane. We open naturally into this chakra between ages 8 and 14. This center controls the muladhara, as does each progressively higher chakra control those that lie below it.

This chakra is located in the sacrum, and is considered to correspond to the testes or the ovaries that produce the various sex hormones involved in the reproductive cycle. Svadisthana is also considered to be related to the genitourinary system and the adrenals. The key issues involving svadisthana are relationships, basic emotional needs, and trust. Physically, svadisthana governs reproduction.

The seed mantra is Vam, and the presiding deity is Brahma, with the shakti being Rakini (or Chakini). The animal associated is the crocodile of Varuna.

Next chakra: solar plexus chakra



Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “The Seven Chakras – Sacral Chakra

  1. […] The first chakra is the root chakra. The second chakra is the sacral chakra. The third chakra is the solar plexus […]

  2. […] Next chakra: sacral chakra. […]

  3. […] Closed chakra: Emotional, Resentment, Overindulgence See Root Chakra Properties See more on Sacral Chakra  […]

Share a thought...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: